Tuesday, 11 November 2014 10:14

No-Burn Alert: Mandatory Wood-Burning Ban in Effect Now for Residents of the South Coast Air Basin

2014-11-11 101547The South Coast Air Quality Management District (SCAQMD) has issued a residential no-burn alert effective today for all those living in the South Coast Air Basin, which includes the greater Los Angeles area, Orange County and the Inland Empire. SCAQMD reminds residents in these areas that burning wood in their fireplaces is prohibited today through midnight. No-burn alerts are mandatory in order to protect public health due to a high concentration of fine particle air pollution forecast for the area. The no-burn prohibition also applies to manufactured fire logs, such as those made from wax or paper.

A no-burn alert has also been issued for Tuesday, November 11 so wood burning in fireplaces is banned tomorrow through midnight as well.

Fine particles in wood smoke – also known as particulate matter or PM2.5 – can get deep into the lungs and cause respiratory illnesses, increases in emergency room visits and hospitalizations.

South Coast Basin residents can help reduce the harmful health effects of wood smoke by checking for no-burn alerts using one of the following options before burning wood:

  • Sign-up to receive e-mail alerts via www.AirAlerts.org
  • Visit www.aqmd.gov for daily forecasts and for an interactive no-burn alert map
  • CallSCAQMD’s 24-hour Check Before You Burn toll-free line at (866) 966-3293

SCAQMD’s no-burn alerts do not apply to mountain communities above 3,000 feet in elevation, the Coachella Valley and the High Desert. Homes that rely on wood as a sole source of heat, low-income households and those without natural gas service also are exempt from the requirement.

SCAQMD’s Check Before You Burn program starts each year on Nov. 1 and runs through the last day of February. For further information on the Check Before You Burn program and alternatives to wood burning, visit www.healthyhearths.org.

SCAQMD is the air pollution control agency for Orange County and major portions of Los Angeles, San Bernardino and Riverside counties.

Read 1690 times